4. Designated Heritage Assets including Listed Buildings

A listed building is a structure officially designated as being of special architectural, historical or cultural significance.

Listing is not a preservation order, preventing change. It does not freeze a building in time, it simply means that listed building consent must be applied for in order to seek permission for any changes to that building which might affect its special interest.

The local authority uses listed building consent to make decisions that balance the site’s historic significance against other issues, such as its function, condition or viability.

The National Heritage List for England (NHLE) is the official register of all nationally protected historic buildings and sites in England – listed buildings, scheduled monuments, protected wrecks, registered parks and gardens, and battlefields.

To check whether a building is listed search here

Categories of listed buildings

Grade I buildings are of exceptional interest, only 2.5% of listed buildings are Grade I

Grade II* buildings are particularly important buildings of more than special interest; 5.8% of listed buildings are Grade II*

Grade II buildings are of special interest; 91.7% of all listed buildings are in this class and it is the most likely grade of listing for a homeowner.

If you would like to suggest a building or structure for listing take a look at the criteria.

Report an Issue or Concern   to Swale Planners

Please also report your concern to the Society